News UK

Why Saka was credited with two assists against Wolves in FPL

We explain how the FPL assist rules were applied for Arsenal’s two goals scored on Saturday

Bukayo Saka was credited with his third and fourth assists of the season in Fantasy Premier League in Arsenal’s 2–1 win over Wolverhampton Wanderers in Gameweek 16, despite both goals being recorded as own goals by the visitors.

The first assist

Saka’s first assist came from a corner-kick. His deep, inswinging delivery prompted an attempted clearance from Wolves goalkeeper Sam Johnstone, with the ball then striking the post and going in off Johnstone.

Watch Saka’s assist for Johnstone’s own goal

After review, the assist was awarded to Saka because his cross was followed by only a single defensive touch — Johnstone’s attempted clearance — before the goalscoring action.

As outlined in the assist rules:

“If an own goal is scored following a deflected pass, an assist is awarded. No assist will be awarded if the pass receives two or more defensive touches or if the defensive touch is a pass.”

Had there been two or more defensive touches before the goal was scored, the assist would not have been awarded.

This reflects changes to the assist rules for the 2025/26 season, which have aligned own goals resulting from passes with regular goals. Previously, a pass had to directly force the own goal to qualify for an assist; this requirement has now been removed to allow for one defensive touch before the goalscoring action.

These updated rules were first applied in Gameweek 10, when Fulham’s Ryan Sessegnon was awarded an assist, again with Wolves the opposition involved. 

In Fulham’s 3-0 win, Sessegnon’s cross deflected off Johnstone and resulted in an own goal by defender Yerson Mosquera. With the new rules applied, Johnstone’s touch did not rule out the assist.

Watch Sessegnon’s assist for Mosquera’s own goal
The second assist

Mosquera was also involved in Saka’s second assist on Saturday. This time, Saka’s cross was headed directly into his own net by the Colombian, with no touch from the intended target, Arsenal’s Gabriel Jesus, before the goal.

Watch Saka’s assist for Mosquera’s own goal

As the rules state:

“A player who has the final touch before an own goal is scored is awarded an assist. The final touch can be a pass, an inadvertent touch, or a shot.”

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button